Chili’s (knock off) Ranch Dressing

I love ranch. Like, a whole lot. Sometimes, I base my like/dislike of a restaurant, specifically on their ranch dressing. When my niece was little, she would dip carrots in ranch, suck the ranch off the carrot, and then re-dip the same carrot.  If that wasn’t considered socially unacceptable for adults, I would consider doing it on a daily basis.  I have yet to find a bottled ranch that I really like, trying various recipes over the years in attempt to find the perfect homemade ranch.  I was starting to think that it would never happen, and I would have to live a life of sad ranch-less happiness (at least I’m not dramatic!)

I finally found a recipe that I really, really like, and it happens to be based off of one of my very favorite ranch dressings – Chili’s restaurant. I read about their “secret ingredient” (pickle juice), and thought that sounded pretty gross. I love pickles, but am not a big fan of pickle juice on its own.  I figured I owed this recipe a chance, and I’m really glad I did.  I did some tasting and tweaking as I went, in order to nail down the perfect recipe. Here it is, my ranch connoisseurs:

1 cup mayonnaise (I prefer Duke’s – lower carbs)
1 cup sour cream
8 tablespoons of pickle juice (I prefer dill)
1 tablespoon buttermilk
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon parsley
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 pinch of pepper
4 tablespoons finely chopped green onions (optional, but I love the kick it gives)

In a medium mixing bowl, mix together the mayo, sour cream and pickle juice.  Use a whisk to get all of the lumps out
edit 2

Add in the buttermilk, and whisk again
edit 3

Add the remainder of the ingredients and mix well
edit 5

For storage, I prefer a mason jar as it seals well – but any container with a tightly sealed lid will do
edit 6

As you can see, it makes a little over a pint.  This jar will usually last me a solid two weeks (I eat a salad every day for lunch, and on some other things along the way), and as long as it’s refrigerated, there shouldn’t be any issues keeping it that long.  It actually tastes better on day two, and even better on day three, and so on.  Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

